Go to top of page

LSCS SBDC names finalists for 24th Annual Small Business awards - The Woodlands

LSCS SBDC names finalists for 24th Annual Small Business awards - The Woodlands

By: Lone Star College System
Published: Sep 24, 2010, 9:00am

« Back to Woodlands News
The Lone Star College System Small Business Development Center Advisory Council has selected 15 finalists for its 24rd Annual Small Business of the Year awards.
Each year, members of the LSCS SBDC Advisory Council select and recognize successful small businesses that make an impact in the local community and on the economy.
Nominees were gathered from the community and 15 finalists were selected, three finalists from each of the five college service areas, on the basis of leadership, entrepreneurial spirit, business growth, and contribution to the community. 
All 15 finalists are first recognized at a luncheon on Oct. 19 and then the winners – one from each of the five college service areas – will be recognized at the 2010 24rd Annual Small Business of the Year awards banquet on Nov. 18.
“The 15 finalists for this year’s award represent some of the best companies in our area,” said Tammie Jeffers, chairperson of the council’s nomination committee. “As usual, we receive a lot of great nominees from the community and selecting the best of those becomes more difficult every year.”
“This is the 24rd year that we are able to continue our tradition of honoring these successful small business owners,” said Sal Mira, executive director of the LSCS SBDC. “Each of these business owners makes special contributions to the community and we’re proud to be able to give these owners a moment in the spotlight through the annual awards recognition. They deserve it.”
The 2010 24th Annual Small Business of the Year finalists are: from LSC-CyFair –  Energy Capital Credit Union, Randall Dixon; Steamboat House Restaurant, Charlie Fogarty; Peak Financial Group, Janine Moore, Tracey Brundrett and Darrell Ellisor; from LSC-Kingwood – Spring Chicken Travel, Sandra Rogers; Kingwood Chiropractic Associates, Dr. Kyle Buchan, Dr. M. Cody McComb; Danell’s Gifts and Florals, Danell Fields; from LSC-Montgomery – Accurate Inspect, Lisa and Larry Fleming; Tough Law Firm, Bruce Tough; Outback Western Wear, Michelle and Chris O’Rourke; from LSC-North Harris – A Dog’s Life Pet Salon and Boutique, Carol Fellbaum; Texas Tutor Professionals, Zandra Draper, Alexander Warren; ClearChoice Orthodontic Associates, Dr. Raymond McLendon; and from LSC-Tomball – Deborah Hroch and Associates, Deborah Hroch; Allied Siding and Windows, Leonard Courtright; Graco Awards Enterprises, Tom Tucker.
The 24th annual awards banquet will be held on Thursday, Nov. 18 at The Woodlands Waterway Marriott.
The LSCS SBDC works with existing companies to help them get started, grow and compete in today's global economy. SBDC services are available for companies in every phase of the business life cycle, helping entrepreneurs make sound decisions and succeed. For more information about the SBDC visit sbdc.LoneStar.edu/

« Back to Woodlands News & Highlights

Sponsor an Ad »

Kosmin Media